Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First I'm going to rant then I'm going to ask for input:

Why in the hell does a $23K motorcycle have a crap transmission? I read somewhere that the Cross bikes have the downshifting from
3rd to 2nd and from 2nd to 1st synch issue that can be worked around by blipping the throttle. But then that can create it's onw set of issues (cured on my bike by the addition of the timing gear). I understand the non Cross bike trannies do not suffer from this. Why does Victory have different internals on the same 6 speed gearbox? Is there any resolution to this unacceptable condition?

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Do you have a transmission problem or are you just stirring ****? I have been riding my bike for 7 months, 8500 smiles, and have had no transmission problems at all. The engine and tranny on my bike are rock solid.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you have a transmission problem or are you just stirring ****? I have been riding my bike for 7 months, 8500 smiles, and have had no transmission problems at all. The engine and tranny on my bike are rock solid.
Oh I have a downshifting problem and it's growing more annoying.
10K miles on it and it hasn't gotten any better.

·
Registered
12,320 Posts
Let's calm down and start at the beginning. you did not state how many miles are on your bike. It takes a long time for these to break in, maybe 3,000+ miles. I find that preloading the shifter works wonders for smoothing and quieting shifts. Try it, you'll like it.
You really want to be going less that 10 mph when downshifting into first. Dunno what bike(s) you came from, but you gotta ride it like a Victory, not some other brand or type of bike.

·
Super Moderator
6,378 Posts
I've had mine for 8000 miles and it shifts like it did on day one. Perhaps yours has some issue?

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #6